The Shenango Area School District Board of Directors met for the reorganization meeting on **Tuesday, December 5, 2023,** at 7:00 p.m. in the Elementary School Library with the following members:

Present: Andy Bruno, Albert Burick, Jeana Colella, John Colella, Doug Columbus, Jennifer Cox, Merle Glass, Michael Miloser, Denise Palkovich

Others Present: Adam Vincent, Derek Sumner, Joe McCormick, Todd Anthony, Jim Janacone, Lauren Chappell, Emily Sanchez-Parodi, Jennifer Haben

President Glass called the meeting to order and accepted nominations for the position of temporary chairperson from the hold-over members. On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by John Colella, Al Burick was approved as temporary chairperson by a unanimous voice vote.

The certificates of election were read by the Board Secretary for Jeana Colella, John Colella, Doug Columbus, Jennifer Cox, Merle Glass, and she then administered the Oath of Office.

Temporary Chairperson Burick accepted nominations for the Office of President of the Shenango Area School Board. D. Palkovich nominated Merle Glass. On a motion by John Colella, seconded by D. Palkovich, Merle Glass was elected Board President by a unanimous voice vote.

President Glass assumed the chair and requested nominations for the Office of Vice President of the Shenango Area School Board. M. Miloser nominated Denise Palkovich. On a motion by John Colella, seconded by A. Burick, Denise Palkovich was elected Vice President by a unanimous voice vote.

Denise Palkovich retained her position as the Legislative Chairperson.

On a motion by John Colella, seconded by D. Palkovich, the Committee of the Whole meeting dates, times, and places as indicated for the year 2024 were approved by a unanimous voice vote.

On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by John Colella, the Regular Board meeting dates, times, and places as indicated for the year 2024 were approved by a unanimous voice vote.

On a motion by D. Columbus, seconded by M. Miloser, the reorganization meeting was adjourned by a unanimous voice vote.

Merle Glass, President	Jennifer L. Haben, Secretary

The Shenango Area School District Board of Directors met in a regular session immediately following the reorganization meeting on December 5, 2023, with the following members:

Present: Andy Bruno, Albert Burick, Jeana Colella, John Colella, Doug Columbus, Jennifer Cox,

Merle Glass, Michael Miloser, Denise Palkovich,

Others Present: Joe McCormick, Todd Anthony, Derek Sumner, Adam Vincent, Jim Janacone,

Lauren Chappell, Emily Sanchez-Parodi, Jennifer Haben

President Glass asked all to stand for a moment of silent prayer and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

V. Correspondence

None

VI. Committee Reports

None

VII. Administrative Reports

Mr. Vincent and Mr. Anthony provided information concerning upcoming activities and events in their buildings.

VIII. Public Comments

Bill Cheslock presented a donation on behalf of the class of 1968 and introduced Mr. Scott Winder, a retired Shenango teacher.

IX. Approve Agenda

On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by John Colella, the agenda was approved by a unanimous voice vote.

Minutes

X. On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by Jeana Colella, the minutes of the regular meeting of November 13, 2023, as written on pages 3242-3244, were approved by a unanimous voice vote.

XI. Executive Session

None

XII. Additions to the Agenda

None

XIII. Old Business – Federal Funds, et al.

None

XIV. New Business

- 1. On a motion by John Colella, seconded by D. Columbus, the following financial items were approved and filed for audit by a unanimous roll call vote:
 - a. Bills as listed on page 3246 in the amount of \$203,261.59
 - b. Financial statements for November 2023 as shown on pages 3247-3248 with an ending balance of \$314,478.10
 - c. Cafeteria reports for November 2023
 - d. Activity/Athletic reports for November 2023

- 2. On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by Jeana Colella, the following personnel items were approved by a unanimous voice vote:
 - a. Sophia DeVito, Kirsten McConahy, Lindsay Wallace (Act 86) were added to the day-to-day substitute list contingent upon administrative assurance that all necessary requirements are met
 - b. Dwight Heminger to take a family medical leave beginning November 8, 2023 and not to exceed 12 weeks
- 3. On a motion by M. Miloser, seconded by A. Burick, the following field trips were approved, with a cost to the district for transportation only, by a unanimous voice vote:
 - a. Doug Butchy to accompany four students to SRU for Honor's Band on December 7-9, 2023
 - b. Doug Butchy to accompany thirteen students to New Castle High School on December 18, 2023 for Lawrence County All-Star Band
 - c. Third grade to go to Old Economy Village on May 24, 2024
 - d. Jessica Linton to take Academic Games participants to Slippery Rock University for Linguistics on December 13, 2023
 - e. Peer Leadership to visit the Make-A-Wish headquarters in Pittsburgh for a special honor tour to recognize their contributions to the organization on December 12, 2023
 - f. Samantha Leali to take Chamber Singers to perform at Heinz Hall on December 21, 2023
- 4. On a motion by A. Burick, seconded by John Colella, the Board authorized the administration to participate in the 2024-2025 Midwestern Intermediate Unit IV Joint Purchasing Agreement by a unanimous voice vote.
- 5. On a motion by M. Miloser, seconded by D. Palkovich, the 2023-2026 Comprehensive Plan was approved as presented by a unanimous roll call vote.
- 6. On a motion by D. Palkovich, seconded by John Colella, the Board approved the Resolution indicating that it will not raise the rate of any tax for the support of its public schools for the 2024-2025 fiscal year by more than the index established by the Department of Education of 7.4% by a unanimous roll call vote.

Adjournment

On a motion by D. Palkovich	i, seconded by A. Bruno	, the meeting was a	adjourned by a	unanimous v	voice
vote at 7:20 p.m.					

Merle Glass, President	Jennifer L. Haben, Secretary